Nigeria have trimmed their African Cup of Nations list to 24 from the squad of 32 earlier announced by Head Coach Shaibu Amodu.

After a meeting involving the NFF leadership, members of the NFF Technical Committee and the Super Eagles’ technical crew at the NFF Secretariat in Abuja on Wednesday morning, eight players were dropped from the playing body for the final training camp that starts in Durban, South Africa on New Year’s Day.
Team Captain Nwankwo Kanu is set to make his sixth appearance in the continental showpiece, with his deputy Joseph Yobo and other ‘senior’ players like Oluwaseyi Olofinjana and Yakubu Aiyegbeni also listed.
The three goalkeepers who were at the last competition in Ghana earlier last year also head to Angola, with youngster Elderson Echiejile countenancing his first African Nations Cup.
Goalkeepers: Vincent Enyeama, Bamidele Aiyenugba, Austin Ejide
Defenders: Joseph Yobo, Danny Shittu, Obinna Nwaneri, Taye Taiwo, Elderson Echiejile, Yusuf Mohammed, Chidi Odiah, Onyekachi Apam
Midfielders: Nwankwo Kanu, Mikel Obi, Dickson Etuhu, Sani Kaita, Yusuf Ayila, Oluwaseyi Olofinjana, Kalu Uche
Strikers: Yakubu Aiyegbeni, Osaze Odemwingie, Michael Eneramo, Obinna Nsofor, Obafemi Martins, Chinedu Obasi

Have your say. We'd love to know what you think.