Super Eagles head coach, Samson Siasia has only one full day to train his players ahead of Wednesday’s international friendly match against Sierra Leone in Lagos.

The team trained on Tuesday morning and will have another session in the evening.

Pic: Emmanuel Emenike

After decamping most of the home based players, the foreign based failed to arrive on schedule on Monday leaving Siasia with no option than to cancel Monday evening’s session.

Siasia had on Sunday night named a 20 man team to face Sierra Leone.

That team had skipper, Joseph Yobo as well as Inter Milan youngsters, Joel Obi and Obiorah Nwankwo.

Ekigho Ehiosun who is current top scorer in Nigeria’s League was also part of the team as well as Chibuzo Okonkwo, Julius Ubido and Wasiu Sowewimo who all play in the home League.

However, of the 20 man team listed, Chelsea midfield man, John Mikel Obi is not expect to play any part in the match as the medical staff of his London based club say he will be unable to train or play on artificial turf having just come out of a recent surgery.

Wigan’s Victor Moses who was expect to make his international debut for Nigeria is also out as his advisers are said to have told him to focus on developing his club career for now.

Reports already have it that Samson Siasia has barred him from next month’s Africa Cup of Nations qualifier for his refusal to show up for Wednesday’s friendly match.

Ukraine based, Dele Adeleye has also been ruled out on account of an injury and that is why Wasiu Sowewimo of Kano Pillars made the cut.

Newcastle’s Shola Ameobi was also ruled out due to injury.

Everton’s Victor Anichebe was also ruled out due to a persistent injury.

As at midnight on Monday, players in camp for the game against Sierra Leone were Vincent Enyeama and Dele Aiyenugba, defenders Taye Taiwo, Joseph Yobo, Olubayo Adefemi, Chibuzor Okonkwo, Wasiu Sowemimo and Elderson Echiejile.

Others are midfielders Michael Odibe, Julius Ubido, Obiora, Nwankwo, Joel Obi, Olufemi Ajilore and Mikel Obi, Emmanuel Emenike, Ekigho Ehiosun, Ahmed Musa, Osaze Odemwingie, Peter Utaka and Obinna Nsofor.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here