Three senior Nigeria Men National team players, Osaze Odemwingie, Kalu Uche and Vincent Enyeama will be in Port Harcourt later on Tuesday for the Africa Independent Television, AIT football awards night.

Three of them have been nominated for the Player of the Year category of the awards.
Osaze Odemwingie won the last edition of the award when it held in Abuja in 2009 shortly after the Nigerian national team played against Mozambique in a World Cup qualifying match.

Aisha Falode, one of the organisers of the awards told a packed news conference on Monday afternoon that they had no doubts the three Super Eagles players would turn up.

“Osaze is the current holder of this award and we have no doubts he would be around. We have also spoken with Vincent Enyeama and Kalu Uche and they have all given us their words that they will be around,” Falode said.

“That is the beauty of what we are doing. We will not experience a situation where the nominees do not show up. This award will be different.”

Another notable category is the coach of the year that will pitch Okey Emordi of Enyimba against Salisu Yusuf, formerly of Kano Pillars and Festus Austin of Bukola Babes.

The award is hosted by the Rivers State government after a promise made by the governor, Rotimi Chibuike Amaechi after the last edition in Abuja

Have your say. We'd love to know what you think.