Nigeria’s hero of the their 2013 Africa Cup of Nations win, Sunday Mba has been sensationally left out of Nigeria’s final team to the 2014 FIFA World Cup Brazil.

Mba did not make the cut as Stephen Keshi’s list must made public just before midnight, Nigerian time on Monday, June 2, 2014.

Mba, at the AFCON in 2013, scored the goal that sent, favourites, Ivory Coast packing from the tournament in the quarter final and then the winner in the final against Burkina Faso.

Other players scrapped out of the team are Beijing 2008 Silver medallist, Obinna Nsofor and Joel Obi who was out injured for a long spell.

Ejike Uzoenyi, who plays for Nigerian League side, Rangers and featured against Mali at the AFCON in 2013 also did not make the final team.

Nnamdi Oduamadi, Nosa Igiebor and Daniel Akpeyi will also not play in the World Cup.

Yobo is third time lucky

Defender Joseph Yobo will play in his third FIFA World Cup finals and have opportunity to become Nigeria’s first –ever century – international after he was named.

Also going to their third World Cup are goalkeepers Vincent Enyeama and Austin Ejide, but midfield strongman John Mikel Obi will only be attending his first finals after Nigeria narrowly missed Germany 2006 and he was omitted from South Africa 2010 due to injury.

Former junior international defender Elderson Echiejile and Olympic silver medalist Osaze Odemwingie, who were also in South Africa four years ago, make the cut for the biggest showpiece in football, starting in 10 days’ time.

2013 Africa Cup of Nations top scorer Emmanuel Emenike is joined in the attack by England-based duo of Victor Moses and Shola Ameobi, and former junior international Uche Nwofor.


GOALKEEPERS: Vincent Enyeama, Austin Ejide, Chigozie Agbim

DEFENDERS: Joseph Yobo, Elderson Echiejile, Juwon Oshaniwa, Godfrey Oboabona, Azubuike Egwuekwe, Kenneth Omeruo, Efe Ambrose, Kunle Odunlami

MIDFIELDERS: John Mikel Obi, Ogenyi Onazi, Ramon Azeez, Michael Uchebo, Reuben Gabriel

FORWARDS: Osaze Odemwingie, Ahmed Musa, Shola Ameobi, Emmanuel Emenike, Babatunde Michael, Victor Moses, Uche Nwofor



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here