Abdul Maikaba
FC striker, Ocheme Edoh and Wikki Tourists gaffer, Abdu Maikaba, have emerged
winners of the League Bloggers Awards (LBA) Player and Manager for the month of
June respectively.
and Maikaba were picked as the top performers in the Glo Premier League for the
month under review among other top contenders nominated for the awards in the
player and manager categories.
Giwa FC forward beat the trio of Bright Ejike (Heartland) as well as
goalkeepers Sani Haliru (Wikki Tourists) and Itodo Akor (Enugu Rangers) to
claim the LBA Player for June.
battle for the player’s award was whittled down to Edoh and Ejike though the
two goalkeepers, Akor and Haliru, kept three clean sheets each to influence
their teams’ superb form in June.
however, edged Ejike for the award as he scored in every match he featured in
for Giwa FC in June despite being tied on four goals apiece with the Heartland
was a tight race between Edoh and Ejike for the player’s gong as the number of
away goals scored by the two strikers was taken into consideration, and the
Giwa FC man did enough to best his Heartland counterpart. Edoh scored twice on
the road at Dolphins and Kano Pillars while Ejike managed just one away goal at
Sharks for the month under review.
the manager’s category, Maikaba always looked favourite after the conclusion of
the Glo Premier League matches for the month of June.
only challenge for Maikaba came from Enyimba head coach, Kadiri Ikhana and
Enugu Rangers manager, Imama Amapakabo.
Maikaba guided the Tourists to an unbeaten run in June and masterminded his two
away successes at FC Taraba and FC Ifeanyiubah who had at the time held a 100
percent run at home. Wikki Tourists finished with 10 points – more than any
team in June.
teams of Amapakabo and Ikhana also enjoyed unbeaten runs in June but Rangers
and Enyimba could only muster nine and eight points respectively.
and Maikaba will be presented their LBA Player and Manager for June in the
coming days.
LBA winners this
March 2015
Ebere Odiche (Heartland)
Tony Ogharanduku (FC Taraba)
April 2015
Ibrahim Shuaibu (Giwa FC)
Tony Bulus (Giwa FC)
May 2015
Tunde Adeniji (Sunshine Stars)
Kennedy Boboye (Sunshine Stars)

Have your say. We'd love to know what you think.