based striker, Brown Ideye and Kingsley MAdu will make their Super Eagles
return in two International friendly games billed for May 27 and June 1.
Ideye, one of the stars of the 2013 AFCON winning team missed out on the party
to the World Cup in Brazil a year later and has not played for the Super Eagles
since November 16, 2013 against Ethiopia in Calaber as he was overlooked by
Stephen Keshi, Sunday Oliseh and Samson Siasia.
on the other hand has had just two caps for the Super Eagles and has not played
since the 2017 AFCON qualifier against Tanzania in Dare salaam.
both players were named on Wednesday afternoon amongst twenty six players for
two friendly matches against Mali on May 27 and Luxemburg on June 1.
Eagles’ Head Coach Salisu Yusuf also called up the likes of John Mikel Obi,
forwards Ahmed Musa and Odion Ighalo and goalkeeper Carl Ikeme for the games.
installed as interim Head Coach by the NFF last week, has picked a relatively
young squad that also includes former U-20 skipper Musa Muhammed, former U-20
defender Gbenga Arokoyo, former U-23 midfielder Raheem Lawal, and unknown
Portugal –based defender Chidozie Awaziem.
Kenneth Omeruo, Leon Balogun and William Troost Ekong return, while Ogenyi
Onazi, Abdullahi Shehu, Elderson Echiejile, Moses Simon, Victor Moses, Alex
Iwobi and Aaron Samuel are back to familiar terrain.
Goalkeepers: Carl Ikeme
(Wolverhampton Wanderers, England); Daniel Akpeyi (Chippa United, South
Africa); Ikechukwu Ezenwa (Sunshine Stars)
Defenders: Abdullahi Shehu (Uniao
da Madeira, Portugal); Musa Muhammed (Istanbul Basaksehir, Turkey); Elderson
Echiejile (AS Monaco, France); Kingsley Madu (AS Trencin, Slovakia); Kenneth
Omeruo (Kasimpasa SK, Turkey); Leon Balogun (Mainz 05, Germany); Gbenga Arokoyo
(Gaziantepspor, Turkey); William Troost Ekong (Haugesund FC, Norway); Chidozie
Awaziem (FC Porto, Portugal)
Midfielders: Ogenyi Onazi (SS
Lazio, Italy); John Mikel Obi (Chelsea FC, England); Kelechi Iheanacho
(Manchester City, England); Wilfred Ndidi KRC Genk, Belgium); Raheem Lawal
(Osmanlispor FK, Turkey); Etebo Oghenekaro (SC Farense, Portugal)
Forwards: Ahmed Musa (CSKA
Moscow, Russia); Moses Simon (KAA Gent, Belgium); Victor Moses (West Ham
United, England); Odion Ighalo (Watford FC, England); Alex Iwobi (Arsenal FC,
England); Aminu Umar (Osmanlispor FK, Turkey); Aaron Samuel (CSKA Moscow,
Russia); Brown Ideye (Olympiakos FC, Greece)     

Have your say. We'd love to know what you think.