Eagles land in Accra, ready for Sierra Leone

The
Super Eagles landed in the Ghanaian capital, Accra on Sunday night
and immediately proceeded to the town of Takoradi by road ahead of
Monday’s WAFU Cup of Nations Tournament Group A clash with the
Leone Stars.

The
trip to Takoradi, where all the participating teams except host team
Ghana are being accommodated took four hours.
Nigeria’s
flag-bearers are accommodated at the Best Western Hotel in the twin
city of Sekondi.

Eagles’
Team Administrator, Dayo Enebi Achor confirmed to thenff.com that the
Nigerian team would depart Takoradi for Cape Coast (one-and-half
hours by road) at 3pm on Monday for the game against the Leone Stars
that is scheduled to kick off at 6pm, Ghana time (7pm Nigeria time).

Victory
over the Leone Stars will take Nigeria into the tournament’s group
phase contest that will see the surviving eight teams divided into
two groups of four teams each.

Hosts
Ghana and Guinea are among the teams that have made it into the group
phase, after the Ghanaians survived a tough duel with The Gambia 1-0
and Guinea came from behind to edge Guinea Bissau 2-1.

Mali
will tackle Mauritania in Monday’s first match starting at 3pm
Ghana time (4pm Nigeria time).

Eagles’
coach, Salisu Yusuf is using the tournament as part of preparations
for next year’s 5th African Nations Championship, for which Nigeria
has qualified after edging Benin Republic on aggregate.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


*