defender William Troost-Ekong, currently with Bursapor in Turkey, has become
the 43rd member of Common Goal – the movement powered by players and managers
donating one percent of their salary to high impact football for good
organisations around the world.
40 players and managers have allocated over €400,000
to football for good organisations in six months since starting with a single
player, Manchester United and Spain midfielder Juan Mata.
At the 2018 World Cup in Russia this summer, Common
Goal looks likely to be represented by at least eight players.
The 24-year old defender has had a busy past few
years. He was a crucial part of the Nigeria national team as they won a Bronze
Medal at the Rio Olympics in 2016, and was nominated for the 2017 African
Player of the Year for his efforts.
In the 2018 World Cup qualification group stage
Troost-Ekong played every match for the Eagles. He captained the team in their
1-0 friendly victory against Poland on Friday, March 23.
“Winning the bronze medal for Nigeria at the 2016
Olympics and qualifying for the World Cup were both massive moments for me,”
said Troost-Ekong.
“However I’m hoping to outdo both of those this
summer at the World Cup.”
Born in the Netherlands in 1993 to a Dutch mother
and Nigerian father, Troost-Ekong has already played in England, Holland, Belgium,
Norway and Turkey and considers his commitment to Common Goal as a decisive
career moment.
“I’m aware that I’m a role model for children and
football fans, and having travelled the world I’ve seen the impact that we have
in people’s lives. It’s our responsibility, as players, to use that in a
positive way.”
Troost-Ekong’s commitment to Common Goal comes just
as the movement prepares to invest funds generated by player pledges for the
first time. Next month will see €400,000 allocated to 27 football for good
organisations tackling some of the toughest social issues of our time – ranging
from HIV/AIDS, to gender inequality and youth unemployment.
“We are delighted that William is joining Common
Goal. Not just because he is a fantastic player, but because he is a fantastic
person,” said Jürgen Griesbeck, Common Goal founder. “William and all of our
players recognise the importance of aligning behind a shared vision and using
their status as footballers, to make the world a better place.”
With new players from all levels of football joining
the movement every week, Common Goal is racing towards the 100 player mark in
In the coming weeks Common Goal is set to announce
how football fans, and other stakeholders in the game, from around the world
can participate in the biggest movement in football.
Common Goal is a global movement in which the
football community pledges a minimum of 1% of its earnings to football for good
organisations that use the game to advance the Global Goals.
Common Goal is the creation of streetfootballworld,
the international leader in football for good.
Over the past 15 years, the organisation has
assembled a global network of more
than 120 football-based organisations that use
football as a tool to tackle social issues ranging from gender equality in
India to peace building in Colombia to refugee integration in Germany.
streetfootballworld supports Common Goal’s members
by aligning their donations with social initiatives that generate the greatest
impact around the world.
Alberto Prada Vega (Wiener Neustadt), Aleksander
Čeferin (UEFA), Alex Jason Brosque
(Sydney FC), Alex Morgan (Orlando Pride), Alexander
Esswein (Hertha BSC), Alfie
Mawson (Swansea City), Ana Cate (Stjarnan), Bokang
‘Lefty’ Mothoana (Kick4Life),
Borja Lasso de la Vega Gayán (CA Osasuna), Bruno
Saltor (Brighton & Hove Albion FC),
Charlie Daniels (AFC Bournemouth), Chris Wondolowski
(San Jose Earthquakes), Daniel
Didavi (VfL Wolfsburg), David Accam (Philadelphia
Union), Dennis Aogo (VfB Stuttgart),
Duncan Watmore (Sunderland FC), Giorgio Chiellini
(Juventus Turin), Giuliano Modica (FC
Kaiserslautern), Hasan Ali Kaldirim (Fenerbahce SK),
Heather O’Reilly (Arsenal FC), Irene
Paredes (Paris Saint-Germain), Jean Sseninde
(Crystal Palace), Juan Mata (Manchester
United), Julian Nagelsmann (1899 Hoffenheim), Kasper
Hjulmand (FC Nordsjaelland),
Kasper Schmeichel (Leicester City), Mats Hummels (FC
Bayern Munich), Megan Rapinoe
(Seattle Reign FC), Nicole Regnier (Junior de
Barranquilla), Olga García (FC Barcelona),
Pauline Bremer (Manchester City), Runar Alex
Runarsson (FC Nordsjaelland), Sebastian
Plog (BW Lohne), Serge Gnabry (1899 Hoffenheim),
Shinji Kagawa (Borussia Dortmund),
Sofie Junge Pedersen (Levante UD), Tessel Middag
(Manchester City), Vero Boquete
(Beijing BG), William Troost-Ekong (Bursapor).

Have your say. We'd love to know what you think.