Leicester City striker, Kelechi Iheanacho and Rotherham’s Semi Ajayi will not be part of Nigeria’s team to the Africa Cup of Nations in Egypt.

Both players were dropped by Gernot Rohr as the team departed Nigeria for Egypt on Sunday.

Iheanachor, after a blistering start to his club and international career, he began to fall out of favour, first with Manchester City. He was shipped out to Leicester City where he still could not find a place in the starting line up.

At the Super Eagles, his performance continued to drop, even at the World Cup in Russia in 2018 where he was less than impressive.

Gernot Rohr left him out of the Eagles the last time they regrouped to play against Seychelles and Egypt in March 2019 and it was only of time for his poor form to get the better of his international career.

Rohr decided to stick with Ahmed Musa, Victor Osimhen, Moses Simon, Henry Onyekuru, Odion Ighalo, Alexander Iwobi, Samuel Kalu, Paul Onuachu, and Samuel Chukwueze to lead the lines for his team.

Semi Ajayi plays for Rotherham in the English Championships and had been a bit part player with the team making just five caps before now.

The Super Eagles squad comprises of 3 goalkeepers, 7 defenders, 4 midfielders and 9 strikers


Francis Uzoho (Anorthosis Famagusta, Cyprus); Ikechukwu Ezenwa (Katsina United); Daniel Akpeyi (Kaizer Chiefs, South Africa)

Olaoluwa Aina (Torino FC, Italy); Abdullahi Shehu (Bursaspor FC, Turkey); Chidozie Awaziem (Caykur Rizespor, Turkey); William Ekong (Udinese FC, Italy); Leon Balogun (Brighton & Hove Albion, England); Kenneth Omeruo (CD Leganes, Spain); Jamilu Collins (SC Padeborn 07, Germany).

Mikel John Obi (Middlesbrough FC, England); Wilfred Ndidi (Leicester City, England); Oghenekaro Etebo (Stoke City FC, England); John Ogu (Hapoel Be’er Sheva, Israel)
Ahmed Musa (Al Nassar FC, Saudi Arabia); Victor Osimhen (Royal Charleroi SC, Belgium); Moses Simon (Levante FC, Spain); Henry Onyekuru (Galatasaray SK, Turkey); Odion Ighalo (Shanghai Shenhua, China); Alexander Iwobi (Arsenal FC, England); Samuel Kalu (Girondins Bordeaux, France); Paul Onuachu (FC Midtjyland, Denmark); Samuel Chukwueze (Villarreal FC, Spain)


Have your say. We'd love to know what you think.