Cyril Dessers

It seems Nigerians will not be seeing Queens Park Rangers boy, Ebere Eze in the Super Eagles yet as he was left out (not surprisingly) from the Super Eagles team to play Sierra Leone in an AFCON Qualifier on March 27 in Asaba.

There had been so much talk in the last few months about convincing him to declare for Nigeria but it seems like, he has not, his international clearance is not ready or Gernot is not convinced.

Super Eagles coach rather opted for rave of the moment, Cyril Dessers who is currently op scoring player in the Dutch Eredivisie and largely unknown Germany based defender, Kingsley Ehizibue.

There’s is a return for Kelechi Iheanacho who has picked up form with Leicester City and Oghenekaro Etebo who was not invited for the last International against Benin and Lesotho.

Kelechi Iheanacho returns to the team

Rohr listed team captain Ahmed Musa, vice-captain William Ekong and veteran defender Kenneth Omeruo in his 24-man Super Eagles’ roster.

There are also goalkeeper Daniel Akpeyi, defenders Leon Balogun and Olaoluwa Aina, midfielder Wilfred Ndidi and forwards Alex Iwobi and Victor Osimhen in the list of three goalkeepers, eight defenders, five midfielders and eight forwards.

Germany –based defender Kingsley Ehizibue, on the books of FC Koln, and Holland –based forward Cyril Dessers have been called up for the first time, while England –based former U17 World Cup winner Kelechi Iheanacho returns to the fold.

Nigeria, on maximum six points from their first two matches of the campaign and in a somewhat comfortable lead in their pool, host the Leone Stars at the Stephen Keshi Stadium in Asaba on Friday, 27th March, before flying to Freetown to confront the Stars at the Siaka Stevens Stadium in the return four days later.

Oghenekaro Etebo also returns to the team

All invited players, as well as technical and administrative officials, are to report in the Delta State capital on Monday, 23rd March.

Victory in both games will virtually guarantee Nigeria a spot at the 33rd Africa Cup of Nations scheduled for Cameroon early next year, ahead of their away clash to the Benin Republic in Porto Novo in June and a home tie against Lesotho early September.


Goalkeepers: Daniel Akpeyi (Kaizer Chiefs, South Africa); Ikechukwu Ezenwa (Heartland FC); Maduka Okoye (Fortuna Dusseldorf, Germany)

Defenders: Kenneth Omeruo (CD Leganes, Spain); Leon Balogun (Wigan Athletic, England); Chidozie Awaziem (CD Leganes, Spain); William Ekong (Udinese FC, Italy); Olaoluwa Aina (Torino FC, Italy); Jamilu Collins (SC Padeborn 07, Germany); Oluwasemilogo Ajayi (West Bromwich Albion, England); Kingsley Ehizibue (FC Koln, Germany)

Midfielders: Abdullahi Shehu (Bursaspor FC, Turkey); Etebo Oghenekaro (Getafe FC, Spain); Wilfred Ndidi (Leicester City, England); Joseph Ayodele-Aribo (Glasgow Rangers, Scotland); Ramon Azeez (Granada FC, Spain)

Forwards: Ahmed Musa (Al Nassr, Saudi Arabia); Alexander Iwobi (Everton FC, England); Victor Osimhen (Lille OSC, France); Moses Simon (FC Nantes, France); Samuel Chukwueze (Villarreal FC, Spain); Cyril Dessers (Heracles Almelo, The Netherlands); Kelechi Iheanacho (Leicester City, England); Samuel Kalu (Girondins Bordeaux, France)


Have your say. We'd love to know what you think.